Skip to content

We may be paid when you use partner links. Who pays us never changes what we show. How we make money

California

Living trust in California

Updated October 15, 2026

California's Probate Code lists five ways to create a trust, requires an intention and trust property, and says a trust of real property 'is not valid unless evidenced by' a signed written instrument. Heirs can collect a small estate by affidavit at $208,850 or less for a death on or after April 1, 2025.

$208,850
Small estate affidavit limit, deaths on or after April 1, 2025 (Probate Code 13100, adjusted)
In writing
A trust of real property, signed by the trustee or settlor (Probate Code 15206)

leginfo.legislature.ca.gov and the Judicial Council's adjusted amounts, read Oct 14, 2026.

Hands turn the page of a family photo album.
On this page
  1. Key facts
  2. What the Probate Code says
  3. California trust and small-estate rules at a g...
  4. What online trust services charged on Oct 14,...
  5. What the services say about signing and fundin...
  6. The sequence the Code and the services describe
  7. The trust plans on each service's site
  8. California living trust questions
  9. Sources

Key facts

  • Five methods. A trust may be created by a declaration that the owner holds property as trustee, a lifetime transfer to a trustee, a transfer by will, an exercise of a power of appointment, or an enforceable promise1.
  • Intent and property. 'A trust is created only if the settlor properly manifests an intention to create a trust' and 'only if there is trust property'23.
  • Real property needs a signed writing. A trust in relation to real property 'is not valid unless evidenced by' a written instrument signed by the trustee or by the settlor, or by operation of law4. An oral trust of personal property needs 'clear and convincing evidence'5.
  • Small estate: $208,850. Section 13100's printed $166,250 is 'adjusted periodically in accordance with Section 890'; the Judicial Council's table sets $208,850 for deaths on or after April 1, 2025, with the next adjustment April 1, 202867.
  • Trust prices on Oct 14, 2026: $399 or $549 at LegalZoom, $499 at Trust & Will, $550 at EZ Will and Trust, $149 at WillMaker Plus9111415.

What the Probate Code says

Section 15200, methods. 'Subject to other provisions of this chapter, a trust may be created by any of the following methods: (a) A declaration by the owner of property that the owner holds the property as trustee. (b) A transfer of property by the owner during the owner's lifetime to another person as trustee. (c) A transfer of property by the owner, by will or by other instrument taking effect upon the death of the owner, to another person as trustee. (d) An exercise of a power of appointment to another person as trustee. (e) An enforceable promise to create a trust.'1 A revocable living trust in which you are your own trustee is the first method.

Sections 15201 and 15202, intent and property. 'A trust is created only if the settlor properly manifests an intention to create a trust.' 'A trust is created only if there is trust property.'23 The second sentence is the statutory reason the services tell you to fund the trust: a signed document with nothing transferred into it is not yet a trust of that property.

Section 15206, real property. 'A trust in relation to real property is not valid unless evidenced by one of the following methods: (a) By a written instrument signed by the trustee, or by the trustee's agent if authorized in writing to do so. (b) By a written instrument conveying the trust property signed by the settlor, or by the settlor's agent if authorized in writing to do so. (c) By operation of law.'4 The section requires a signed writing; it does not mention a notary or witnesses. The deed that moves a home into the trust is recorded with the county, and recording offices have their own acknowledgment requirements that this page does not cover.

Section 15207, oral trusts. 'The existence and terms of an oral trust of personal property may be established only by clear and convincing evidence.' 'The oral declaration of the settlor, standing alone, is not sufficient evidence of the creation of a trust of personal property.'5

Section 13100, small estates. 'if the gross value of the decedent's real and personal property in this state does not exceed one hundred sixty-six thousand two hundred fifty dollars ($166,250), as adjusted periodically in accordance with Section 890, and if 40 days have elapsed since the death of the decedent, the successor of the decedent may, without procuring letters of administration or awaiting probate of the will' collect money due, receive tangible personal property or have a debt or security transferred6. The Judicial Council's adjustment table: $166,250 before April 1, 2022; $184,500 from April 1, 2022; $208,850 on or after April 1, 2025; next adjustment April 1, 20287. On Oct 14, 2026 the courts' self-help page still printed the 2022 figure and linked to the current limits; the PDF is the figure used here8.

California trust and small-estate rules at a glance

RuleWhat the Code saysWhere
How a trust is created1Declaration, lifetime transfer, transfer by will, power of appointment, or enforceable promiseProbate Code 15200
Intent2Only if the settlor 'properly manifests an intention to create a trust'Probate Code 15201
Property3Only if 'there is trust property'Probate Code 15202
Real property4Signed written instrument by trustee or settlor, or by operation of law; no notary or witness named in the sectionProbate Code 15206
Oral trust of personal property5Clear and convincing evidence; the settlor's declaration alone is not enoughProbate Code 15207
Small estate affidavit7$208,850 or less for a death on or after April 1, 2025; 40 days after death; excludes 13050 property and a 13151 petitionProbate Code 13100; Judicial Council adjustment
Primary residence petition7$750,000 for a death on or after April 1, 2025, limited to the decedent's primary residence in California (AB 2016)Probate Code 13151 to 13154; Judicial Council adjustment
Affidavit practicalities8Not for real property; no probate case open; not legally required to be notarized, though institutions may askCourts self-help guide
Sourceleginfo.legislature.ca.gov and courts.ca.govRead Oct 14, 2026leginfo.legislature.ca.gov and courts.ca.govRead Oct 14, 2026

Paraphrased in the table; the statutes' words are quoted above. Other sections of the Trust Law are not covered here.

What online trust services charged on Oct 14, 2026

Prices from each service's own page. The same table, with the will price and our difference column, is on the trust cost guide.

ServiceTrust priceWill price at the same serviceTrust minus will (our arithmetic)What the trust package includes (the service's words)Signing and funding (the service's words)
Trust & Will Trust Plan9See pricesOpens Trust & Will's site. Not a referral link.$499 one person; $599 couples$199 one person; $299 couples$300 (our arithmetic, either plan size)Revocable Living Trust, Pour Over Will, HIPAA Authorization, Living Will, Power of Attorney, Schedule of Assets, Certification of Trust; 'Trust funding guide' in the compare table'Sign and notarize at your convenience'; then 'Fund your trust' with its guide
LegalZoom Basic Trust11Get a quote$399 one person; $499 couples$129 Basic Will one person; $229 couples$270 (our arithmetic, Basic trust minus Basic will; the trust package adds a directive, power of attorney and HIPAA form that the Basic will lacks)Living trust, pour-over will, healthcare directive, financial power of attorney, HIPAA authorization, certificate of trust, schedule of assets, bill of transfer, 30 days of revisions, one printed set'Sign and transfer ownership to your trust'; download in 2 to 3 business days
EZ Will and Trust Trust Package14Get a quote$550 single; $650 joint$149 Will Package$401 single (our arithmetic)Revocable Living Trust, Certificate of Trust, Pour-Over Will, Durable Financial Power of Attorney, Advance Healthcare Directive with HIPAA, editable documents, 1 year storage ($19.99/year after)You print, sign and have the documents 'witnessed and/or notarized according to state requirements'
WillMaker Plus Plan15See pricesOpens WillMaker's site. Not a referral link.$149$109 Starter Plan (will, directive, final arrangements; no trust)$40 (our arithmetic, Plus minus Starter)Plus adds Durable Power of Attorney, Letters to Survivors, Living Trust, Transfer on Death Deed and the download version; up to five of each document'Living trusts are notarized' per its FAQ; state-specific signing instructions
LawDepot living trust template13Get a quote7-day trial, then $49/month; estate documents $35/month or $107.88/year; all documents $155.88/year; single document $7.50 to $119Same subscription covers the willNo difference on a subscription; the single-document price for the trust is not statedRevocable living trust document; a pour-over will is a separate document'Sign it in front of a notary public'; a trustee other than you also signs; retitle assets (new deed, update accounts)
SourceEach service's trust pageRead Oct 14, 2026Each service's will pageRead Oct 14, 2026Our arithmeticRead Oct 14, 2026Each service's trust pageRead Oct 14, 2026Each service's trust pageRead Oct 14, 2026

A dash means the page does not state it. Trust & Will's will price ($199) and LegalZoom's ($129) are from those services' will pages read the same day1012.

What the services say about signing and funding a California trust

None of the five pages gives a California-specific signing rule; each gives a general instruction. Trust & Will: 'most states require that the Trust be notarized in order to hold real property' and 'A Trust, unlike a Will, does not need to be signed in front of any witnesses unless you live in Florida'9. LawDepot: 'sign it in front of a notary public', and 'If your state requires your Living Trust to be notarized, our questionnaire will automatically include a section at the bottom of your document for notarization'13. WillMaker: 'Living trusts are notarized'15. EZ Will and Trust: you have the documents 'witnessed and/or notarized according to state requirements'14.

Section 15206 itself asks for a signed writing and names no notary4. The notary the services describe matters at the next step, the deed: LawDepot's step 3 is 'File a new deed transferring the property to the trust's name'13, and LegalZoom warns that 'If you die without funding your living trust, your estate will be subject to the probate process'11. Section 15202's 'only if there is trust property' is the statutory version of the same point3. County recording requirements and a lawyer's advice on your deed are outside this page.

The sequence the Code and the services describe

  1. Step 1

    A written declaration or transfer

    Probate Code 15200 lists the methods; for real property, 15206 requires a written instrument signed by the trustee or settlor.

  2. Step 2

    Sign, and notarize if your deed or bank requires it

    The sections we read name no notary. Every service tells you to notarize anyway, Trust & Will because institutions and real property transfers ask for it.

  3. Step 3

    Record a deed for the home

    LawDepot: file a new deed in the trust's name. LegalZoom: an unfunded trust leaves the estate in probate. Section 15202: no trust without trust property.

  4. Step 4

    Retitle accounts

    LawDepot: update title or ownership information with your bank or brokerage. LegalZoom says a 401k cannot be moved into the trust.

  5. Step 5

    Know the small-estate numbers

    $208,850 by affidavit after 40 days for personal property; $750,000 by petition for a primary residence, for deaths on or after April 1, 2025.

The trust plans on each service's site

Good for a one-time trust package with a POA and directive

EZ Will and Trust

Trust Package
$550 single, $650 joint
Listed price
$550 to $650 one-time
Checked
Oct 8, 2026
What to check first
  • Storage renews at $19.99/year after year one
  • You print, sign and notarize per your state
  • Joint packages add documents for each spouse

Good for a template with step-by-step notarizing and funding

LawDepot

Trial
7 days, then $49/month
What to check first
  • Cancel before the trial renews if you need one document
  • Pour-over will is a separate document
  • Online notary not usable for NY or MN trusts

Good for a one-time price with an optional year of attorney calls

LegalZoom

Basic / Premium
$399 / $549 one person
Listed price
Individual $399 or $549; couples $499 or $649
Checked
Oct 6, 2026
What to check first
  • Premium's attorney plan renews at $199/year
  • Titled assets must be transferred to the trust
  • Download in 2 to 3 business days

Good for a trust with the Will Plan documents bundled

Trust & Will

Trust Plan
$499 one person, $599 couples
Listed price
Individual trust $499, couples $599
Checked
Oct 2, 2026
See prices on Trust & WillOpens Trust & Will's site. Not a referral link.
What to check first
  • Notarize after download, in the service's words
  • Fund the trust with its guide
  • $49/year membership and $299 attorney support are optional

California living trust questions

Does a California living trust have to be notarized?

Probate Code 15206, the section on trusts of real property, requires a written instrument signed by the trustee or the settlor and does not mention a notary. Trust & Will, LawDepot and WillMaker each tell customers to notarize, Trust & Will citing real property and financial institutions. Ask a California-licensed lawyer about your own trust and deed.

Does a California trust need witnesses?

The sections we read (15200 to 15207) name no witnesses. Trust & Will says a trust 'does not need to be signed in front of any witnesses unless you live in Florida'; that is the service's statement.

What is the California small estate limit in 2026?

$208,850 for a death on or after April 1, 2025, under Probate Code 13100 and 13101 as adjusted by the Judicial Council; $184,500 for deaths from April 1, 2022 to March 31, 2025. The next adjustment is April 1, 2028. The affidavit cannot be used for real property; a separate petition covers a primary residence up to $750,000.

Why did the courts' self-help page show $184,500?

On Oct 14, 2026 that page still printed the 2022 figure and linked to the current limits. The Judicial Council's adjusted-amounts PDF lists $208,850 for deaths on or after April 1, 2025 and is the figure used here.

Is an unfunded trust a trust?

Probate Code 15202: 'A trust is created only if there is trust property.' LegalZoom puts it as: an unfunded trust leaves the estate subject to probate.

What does a California trust cost online?

On Oct 14, 2026: $399 (Basic) or $549 (Premium) at LegalZoom, $499 at Trust & Will, $550 single or $650 joint at EZ Will and Trust, $149 for WillMaker's Plus Plan, and a subscription at LawDepot (7-day trial, then $49/month). Notary and county recording fees are extra and not listed on any page.

Sources

  1. California Probate Code 15200, methods of creating a trustCalifornia Legislative Information, read Oct 14, 2026
  2. California Probate Code 15201, intention to create a trustCalifornia Legislative Information, read Oct 14, 2026
  3. California Probate Code 15202, trust propertyCalifornia Legislative Information, read Oct 14, 2026
  4. California Probate Code 15206, trust of real propertyCalifornia Legislative Information, read Oct 14, 2026
  5. California Probate Code 15207, oral trust of personal propertyCalifornia Legislative Information, read Oct 14, 2026
  6. California Probate Code 13100, affidavit procedure for small estatesCalifornia Legislative Information, read Oct 14, 2026
  7. Probate Code section 890 adjusted amounts (PDF)Judicial Council of California, read Oct 14, 2026
  8. Small estate affidavit to transfer personal propertyCalifornia Courts Self-Help Guide, read Oct 14, 2026
  9. Trust Plan page, prices and FAQTrust & Will, read Oct 14, 2026
  10. Will Plan page, prices and documentsTrust & Will, read Oct 14, 2026
  11. Living trust, Basic and Premium plansLegalZoom, read Oct 14, 2026
  12. Last will and testament, Basic, Pro and Premium plansLegalZoom, read Oct 14, 2026
  13. Revocable living trust template and stepsLawDepot, read Oct 14, 2026
  14. Will Package and Trust Package (home page and FAQ)EZ Will and Trust, read Oct 14, 2026
  15. WillMaker plans and pricingWillMaker (willmaker.com), read Oct 14, 2026

About this page

We may be paid when you use partner links on this page.

We may be paid when you buy through links on this page.

Prices, plans and terms belong to each service and can change. The service's own page is the final word on price, availability and terms.

WillWise Guide is not a law firm, does not give legal advice and does not match anyone with a lawyer. The statutes are quoted as published on the dates shown and cover three states only. For advice about your situation, speak to a lawyer licensed in your state.