Skip to content

We may be paid when you use partner links. Who pays us never changes what we show. How we make money

An adult daughter hugs her smiling older parents at their kitchen table.

Power of attorney cost

What does a power of attorney cost online?

Updated October 15, 2026

On Oct 14, 2026 LegalZoom sold a financial power of attorney alone for $39 or $49. LawDepot and LegalContracts sell a 7-day trial that renews monthly, or a single document. Three will bundles at $149 to $199 already include a power of attorney.

$39
LegalZoom Basic Power of Attorney
$7.50 to $119
LawDepot single document license, any document
$149
EZ Will and Trust Will Package, with a Durable Financial POA

Each service's own page, read Oct 14, 2026.

Published prices

LegalZoom

Power of attorney

Basic $39, Premium $49Checked Oct 6, 2026

LawDepot

Power of attorney form

Single document $7.50 to $119; or subscriptionChecked Oct 2, 2026

On this page
  1. Key facts
  2. Power of attorney prices on Oct 14, 2026
  3. What you are buying, in the services' words
  4. When a will bundle costs less than three docum...
  5. After you download: the signing step
  6. Power of attorney signing rules by state
  7. The documents on each service's site
  8. Power of attorney cost questions
  9. Sources

Key facts

  • LegalZoom: Basic $39, Premium $49; Premium adds 14 days of attorney consultations that renew at $25/month1.
  • LawDepot: a single document is a one-time $7.50 to $119; the 7-day trial renews at $49/month; estate documents alone are $35/month or $107.88/year23.
  • LegalContracts: 7-day trial renewing at $33/month, $95.88/year, or a single document at $7.50 to $794.
  • Bundles that include a POA: EZ Will and Trust Will Package $149, WillMaker Plus $149, Trust & Will Will Plan $1998910.
  • A financial POA is not a medical one. LawDepot: 'a POA doesn't include medical decisions'2. Signing rules are state law: LegalZoom tells you to sign 'according to your state's laws'1.

Power of attorney prices on Oct 14, 2026

What each service's page says. Single-document services first, then the bundles that include a power of attorney with a will.

ServicePrice as publishedBillingWhat you getSigning note on the page
LegalZoom Basic / Premium Power of Attorney1Get a quote$39 / $49One-time; Premium's attorney consultations renew at $25/month after 14 daysFinancial power of attorney from online questions, 30 days of revisions, storage; download in two to three business days'the principal may need to have a notary public sign the power of attorney', depending on state law
LawDepot power of attorney2Get a quoteSingle document $7.50 to $119 (the page does not place the POA within the range); or 7-day trial then $49/month; estate documents $35/month or $107.88/year; all documents $155.88/yearOne-time or subscriptionGeneral or specific; durable, ordinary or springing; does not cover medical decisions'Some states require only two witnesses or a notary, while others require both'; online notary not offered for NH, NY, or Florida POAs with banking and investment powers
LegalContracts power of attorney4Get a quoteSingle document $7.50 to $79; or 7-day trial then $33/month; $95.88/yearOne-time or subscriptionStandard or specific powers; starts immediately, on incapacity or on a date; durable or ordinaryNot stated by the source
Rocket Lawyer membership5See pricesOpens Rocket Lawyer's site. Not a referral link.$149, $249 or $349 a year after a 7-day trial; $34.99, $49.99 or $64.99 monthlySubscription'Unlimited documents & e-signatures'; 12, 36 or unlimited Ask an Attorney questionsNot stated by the source
US Legal Forms7See pricesOpens US Legal Forms's site. Not a referral link.Basic $8/month or Premium $15/month, billed annually (monthly toggle not readable on Oct 14)SubscriptionPOA forms by state; Premium adds completion services for a last will, POA and living willNot stated by the source
EZ Will and Trust Will Package9Get a quote$149One-time; storage $19.99/year after year oneLast Will & Testament, Durable Financial Power of Attorney, Advance Healthcare Directive with HIPAA, 1 year storageYou have the documents 'witnessed and/or notarized according to state requirements'
WillMaker Plus Plan10See pricesOpens WillMaker's site. Not a referral link.$149 (Starter $109 has no POA)One-time; revisions free for a year, $39.99 to renewWills, directive, final arrangements, Durable Power of Attorney, letters, living trust, transfer on death deed'Durable powers of attorney are notarized', with state-specific instructions
Trust & Will Will Plan8See pricesOpens Trust & Will's site. Not a referral link.$199 one person; $299 couplesOne-time; $49/year membership optionalLast Will & Testament, HIPAA Authorization, Advance Healthcare Directive, Power of Attorney'Sign and notarize at your convenience'
SourceEach service's own pageRead Oct 14, 2026Each service's own pageRead Oct 14, 2026Each service's own pageRead Oct 14, 2026Each service's own pageRead Oct 14, 2026

A dash means the page does not state it. Prices before tax or promotions; the service's page is the final word.

What you are buying, in the services' words

One document, one price. LegalZoom's Basic Power of Attorney at $39 includes a 'Financial power of attorney', 'Online questions to guide you through the process', 'Unlimited document revisions for 30 days' and 'Secure online document storage'; Premium at $49 adds 'Unlimited 30 min attorney consultations for 14 days', which 'renews at $25/month'. The document is 'typically ... available for download within two to three business days'1.

Durable, ordinary, springing. LawDepot's table: a durable power 'Remains valid even if the principal becomes incapacitated'; an ordinary one 'Ends when the principal becomes incapacitated, revokes it, or passes away'; a springing one 'Takes effect only after a triggering event (such as a future date or incapacity)'. Each can grant general powers or 'a specific task or transaction (e.g., selling property)'2. LegalContracts frames the same choice as a start 'Immediately', 'On Incapacity' or 'On a specific date', and a durable power that 'Remains in place until you die'4.

Not medical. LawDepot: 'It's important to note that a POA doesn't include medical decisions. If you want to give someone authority to make medical decisions, use LawDepot's Medical Power of Attorney'2. The bundles cover that separately: EZ Will and Trust's 'Advance Healthcare Directive with HIPAA'9, Trust & Will's 'Advance Healthcare Directive'8, WillMaker's 'Healthcare Care Directive'10.

Subscriptions. LawDepot's trial 'renews at $49 per month' unless cancelled; its 'Essentials Access' for estate planning documents is '$35/month or $107.88/year'3. LegalContracts' trial 'renews at $33 per month'4. Rocket Lawyer bills $149, $249 or $349 a year after a 7-day trial, or $34.99, $49.99 or $64.99 monthly, with 'Unlimited documents & e-signatures' in every tier5. US Legal Forms' annual-billed plans are $8 and $15 a month; its FAQ suggests buying a plan and cancelling in My Account if you need one form6.

When a will bundle costs less than three documents

Three one-time will packages already contain a financial power of attorney and a health care directive: EZ Will and Trust's Will Package at $149 ('Last Will & Testament, Durable Financial Power of Attorney, Advance Healthcare Directive with HIPAA')9, WillMaker's Plus Plan at $149 (Starter at $109 has no power of attorney)10, and Trust & Will's Will Plan at $199 ('Last Will & Testament, HIPAA Authorization, Advance Healthcare Directive, Power of Attorney')8.

Our arithmetic: LegalZoom's $39 Basic Power of Attorney plus its $129 Basic Will is $168 and still has no health care directive; its $149 Pro Will bundles the will, a healthcare directive, medical and financial powers of attorney and a HIPAA form with 30 days of attorney calls that renew at $25/month (see what a will costs). Compare the bundle contents on each page before buying documents one at a time.

After you download: the signing step

  1. Step 1

    Read your state's rule first

    LawDepot: 'Some states require only two witnesses or a notary, while others require both.' Our four state pages below quote the statutes for California, Florida, New York and Texas.

  2. Step 2

    Sign the way the statute says

    LegalZoom's own step 4 is 'Ensure you sign the power of attorney according to your state's laws.' WillMaker says durable powers of attorney are notarized and ships state-specific instructions.

  3. Step 3

    Check who can notarize online

    LawDepot's online notary is not offered for New Hampshire or New York powers of attorney, or for Florida powers of attorney granting banking and investment powers.

  4. Step 4

    Give copies to the people who rely on it

    LegalZoom notes that for property, state law may require filing with the county office that oversees the property.

The documents on each service's site

Good for choosing durable, ordinary or springing in one questionnaire

LawDepot

Single document
$7.50 to $119 one-time
Listed price
Single document $7.50 to $119; or subscription
Checked
Oct 2, 2026
What to check first
  • Trial renews at $49/month unless cancelled
  • Does not cover medical decisions
  • Online notary excludes NH, NY and some FL POAs

Good for a single financial power of attorney at a one-time price

LegalZoom

Basic / Premium
$39 / $49
Listed price
Basic $39, Premium $49
Checked
Oct 6, 2026
What to check first
  • Premium's attorney plan renews at $25/month after 14 days
  • Download in two to three business days
  • Notary depends on your state

Power of attorney cost questions

What is the smallest price for a power of attorney alone?

LawDepot and LegalContracts list single-document licenses from $7.50 (to $119 and $79 respectively) without saying where the power of attorney falls in the range. LegalZoom's Basic Power of Attorney is a stated $39.

Does LegalZoom's $39 include a notary?

No. Its page says the principal 'may need to have a notary public sign the power of attorney' depending on state law, and its step 4 is to sign according to your state's laws.

Is a power of attorney included with a will?

In three one-time bundles we read: EZ Will and Trust's $149 Will Package, WillMaker's $149 Plus Plan and Trust & Will's $199 Will Plan. LegalZoom's $149 Pro Will also includes financial and medical powers of attorney.

Does a financial power of attorney cover medical decisions?

LawDepot says it does not; a medical power of attorney or health care directive is a separate document. The bundles above include one.

Can I cancel a trial after making one document?

LawDepot and LegalContracts both say 'Cancel any time' on their trial terms; LawDepot's renews at $49/month and LegalContracts' at $33/month if you do not. US Legal Forms' FAQ suggests buying a plan and cancelling in My Account.

Is a power of attorney made online valid?

Validity depends on your state's signing statute, not the service. See the four state pages above for the statute text, and speak to a lawyer licensed in your state about your own document.

Sources

  1. Power of attorney, Basic and Premium packagesLegalZoom, read Oct 14, 2026
  2. Power of attorney form, types and notarization FAQLawDepot, read Oct 14, 2026
  3. How much do LawDepot documents cost?LawDepot, read Oct 14, 2026
  4. Power of attorney, pricing sectionLegalContracts, read Oct 14, 2026
  5. Membership pricing, yearly and monthlyRocket Lawyer, read Oct 14, 2026
  6. Plans and pricing, annual billingUS Legal Forms, read Oct 14, 2026
  7. Power of attorney forms by stateUS Legal Forms, read Oct 14, 2026
  8. Will Plan page, prices and documentsTrust & Will, read Oct 14, 2026
  9. Will Package and Trust Package (home page and FAQ)EZ Will and Trust, read Oct 14, 2026
  10. WillMaker plans and pricingWillMaker (willmaker.com), read Oct 14, 2026

About this page

We may be paid when you use partner links on this page.

We may be paid when you buy through links on this page.

Prices, plans and terms belong to each service and can change. The service's own page is the final word on price, availability and terms.

WillWise Guide is not a law firm, does not give legal advice and does not match anyone with a lawyer. The statutes are quoted as published on the dates shown and cover three states only. For advice about your situation, speak to a lawyer licensed in your state.